top of page

Henry Harkins Resident Awards



  1. There should be an early solicitation to program directors and surgery residents within Washington state regarding the Harkins competition. This solicitation should include the deadline for abstracts and completed papers, and describe the nature of the award. This is the job of the Program Chairperson.

  2. The presented work must have been performed by a surgical resident or fellow while pursuing active clinical training, fellowship training, or research training.

  3. ​Abstracts should be received by April 1st (or the deadline date designated by the Program Chairperson). The abstracts should indicate that the author intends to enter the Harkins competition. The abstract must be identified as "clinical" or "basic science." Acceptance or rejection of the abstract for consideration for the Harkins Competition will be based on the quality of the abstract.

  4. ​Completed papers should be received not later than June 1st and will then be distributed to the judges for the competition. Completed papers should be sent to the Program Chairperson.

  5. ​The judges will consist of the invited guest speaker or speakers of the Annual Meeting, and at least two others chosen by the Program Chairperson.

  6. Selection of the winners shall be based on the quality of the completed written paper as well as all aspects of the presentation at the meeting but the specific weight given to the paper and presentation will be designated by the Program Chairperson. The presentation is strictly limited to ten minutes. Awards will be given for the best basic science paper and the best clinical paper.

  7. Competition papers will be presented during the early part of the scientific program.

  8. ​A specific time will be designated for the judges to meet and decide on the first and second place winners in each category. Winners will be announced at the Chapter Banquet and certificates issued at that time, including cash awards for the four winning papers.



Awards have been given since 1960. The Henry Harkins Award was instituted in honor of Professor Harkins following his death in 1967. Born in Montana in 1905, Henry Harkins spent most of his youth in Chicago, where he earned his medical degree from Rush Medical College in 1930. He subsequently received his surgical training at the University of Chicago, servicing as Chief Resident in 1936. Following residency, Dr. Harkins began an active career in academic surgery, including fellowships in several European centers. Upon his return to the United States, he served on the staff of Henry Ford Hospital, and later at Johns Hopkins.

In 1947, Dr. Harkins became Chairman of the Department of Surgery at the University of Washington. Under his leadership, the Department gained a reputation for excellence that endures to this day. Among Dr. Harkins' many contributions to surgery were work on traumatic shock, burns, hernia, varicose veins and a keen interest in gastric pathophysiology and surgery. Until his death in 1967, he remained active on numerous editorial boards and advisory panels. The Harkins Resident Paper Competition is a fitting tribute to the memory of this extraordinary surgical leader.


Resident Winners

Student & Quickshot Awards

2023 Annual Meeting
  • Sarah Brennan, University of Washington
  • Andrew Snyder, University of Washington
  • Taylor Brown, Washington State University
bottom of page